
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
STATE OF ALABAMA 

BOARD OF HEATING, AIR CONDITIONING & 
REFRIGERATION CONTRACTORS 

 
 

APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 
INSTRUCTION SHEET 

 
Be advised your application could be delayed if you use a 3rd party licensing organization. The Board 
cannot discuss your application information with anyone except the applicant.  An affidavit from the 

processor is insufficient to discuss your licensing information. 
  
To assure consideration of your license application, the Board office must receive all of these items no 
later than 4:30 PM ten full working days before the Board’s meeting date: 
 
• Completed, signed and notarized application form 
• Fee payment 
• All required supporting documentation. 
 
The Board’s Rules and Regulations, Meeting Dates, and Law are available at www.hacr.alabama.gov. If 
you have any questions, email staff@hacr.alabama.gov or call (334) 241-0840. 
 

Definitions 
 
HEATING AND AIR CONDITIONING SYSTEMS OR SYSTEM. A heating and/or cooling apparatus consisting 
of an air heating and/or cooling fixture from pipes, plenums or blowers including any accessory and 
equipment installed in connection herewith; specifically excluding window units, automotive or farm 
implement type heating and/or air conditioning equipment 
 
REFRIGERATION. The use of mechanical or absorption equipment to control temperature, humidity, or 
both, in order to satisfy the intended use of a specific space, other than for human comfort. 
 
Examples of HVAC and Refrigeration Systems (list is not all inclusive): 
Heating - Forced Air Systems, Ventilation, Gas Piping, Mini-Split, Heat Pumps, Central Heat, etc. 
Air Conditioning- Forced Air Systems, Ventilation, Mini-Split, Heat Pumps, Central Air, etc. 
Refrigeration - Walk-In Coolers, Reach-In Coolers, Commercial Refrigerators, Refrigerated Storage, etc. 
 

1. Licensure by Examination: (New Licensees) 

 

Step 1.  
 
Submit: 
 

o Completed, signed and notarized application EA-1, EA-2, EA-3, EA-4. Processing fee by check or 
money order made payable to “State of Alabama.” The fee for examination is $150.00 

 

P.O. Box 305025 
Montgomery, Alabama 
36130-5025 
 

Phone: (334) 242-5550 
Fax: (334) 242-5555 

www.hacr.alabama.gov 
 

http://www.hacr.alabama.gov/


o The proof you must submit will be based on whether you have an “Apprentice Certificate” or 
have graduated from an approved curriculum determines what other proof you must submit. 

 
o If you have an “Apprentice Certificate” issued by the Board, you will only need to provide 

copies of your apprenticeship certificates for the previous two years. 
 

o If you have graduated from an approved curriculum, you will only need to provide copies of 
your transcripts showing completion and graduation of program. 

 
– OR– 
 

o If you do not have an Apprentice Certificate or have graduated from an approved curriculum 
you must submit: 
 
o Proof of at least three thousand (3000) hours work experience (18 months) gained under 

supervision of a HACR licensee. Use the Affidavit form included in the application packet. 
o Tax form W-2 and an affidavit of the employer or officer of the employing company as proof 

of experience. Acceptance of proof of experience is at the discretion of the Board. 
 

Step 2. 
 
Upon Successful Completion of the Examination: Please determine a status of your certification. 
 
A. Active Status: For contractors who perform HVAC or Refrigeration installation, service or repair must 
hold an ACTIVE certification with the Board. In order to apply for an active certification you must submit 
forms AL-1, AL-2 and BF-1 of the license application along with a performance bond in the amount of 
$15,000 along with the active certification fee. 
 
B. Inactive Status: You may place your license on Inactive status. You cannot practice while your license 
is in inactive status. To request inactive status, you must submit form AL-1 only. 
 
If you wish to change your status you must complete and submit form CS-1 along with appropriate fees. 
 

2. Licensure by Reciprocity: (Hold a current and valid license in a reciprocating state) 

 
You may apply by reciprocity if you hold a current and valid HVAC license with the South Carolina 
Residential Builders Commission for at least 5 years; Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors for at 
least 3 years; Mississippi Board of Contractors for at least 1 year; Louisiana or West Virginia where there 
are no waiting periods.  
 
Submit: 

o Completed, signed and notarized application forms AL-1, AL-2, VL-1, VL-2 and BF-1. 
o Processing fee by check, credit card or money order made payable to "State of Alabama. 

“Fees for Active contractors are $190.00 annually and $95.00 for inactive contractors 
annually. 

o Performance  Bond in the amount of $15,000 in the business name listing the Board as 
obligee (use form BF-1) 

o FOREIGN  CORPORATION  (BUSINESS OR NON-PROFIT)  APPLICATION FOR  
REGISTRATION (To apply as a foreign corporation please visit the Alabama Secretary of 
State website at http://www.sos.state.al.us/downloads/business/sosff-1.pdf  

 
 
 

Incomplete Applications Will Be Returned 

 

http://www.sos.state.al.us/downloads/business/sosff-1.pdf

