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CONTINUING EDUCATION DEADLINE!!! 

Due to the recent COVID-19 pandemic the Board will accept continuing education credits 
through close of business on December 31, 2020. It is strongly urged that you get your 
hours in prior to the December 31 deadline.  

The Board is  offering statewide training at the following locations and dates: 
 

10-6-2020 2 hour class will be offered in Muscle Shoals. Limited Seating. Please contact 
Amber Moncrief at (334) 242-5550 or amber.moncrief@hacr.alabama.gov to attend. 

10-14-2020 4 hours of education will be offered at Alabama Power Training Center. Lim-
ited seating. Please contact Tricia Russell at 800-634-0154 or email 
trussell@southernco.com to attend. 

10-21-2020 4 hour class will be offered in Mobile. Limited Seating. Please contact Amber 
Moncrief at (334) 242-5550 or amber.moncrief@hacr.alabama.gov to attend. 

10-27-2020 4 hour class will be offered in Montgomery. Limited Seating. Please contact 
Amber Moncrief at (334) 242-5550 or amber.moncrief@hacr.alabama.gov to attend. 

11-9-2020 4 hours of education will be offered at Alabama Power Training Center. Lim-
ited seating. Please contact Tricia Russell at 800-634-0154 or email 
trussell@southernco.com to attend.   

For those who cannot attend one of these classes there are always online options. A few 
of the Board’s top online providers are: TradesmanCE.com (@FirstAttempt), AtH-
omePrep.com (@HomePrep), 360Training.com, AnytimeCE.com, RedVector.com, All-
StarCE.com (All Star Training), StateCE.com (Vista College), and HVACTraining.com (The 
Training Source). 

You may also want to check with one of the Board’s top providers to ask if they are offer-
ing  any live webinar training courses approved by the Board. The Board’s top live provid-
ers are: Alabama Power 1-800-634-0154, Ben Pasquinilli 256-595-1700, Johnstone Sup-
ply—Birmingham 205-251-3440, Regal Beloit 205-533-3636, Hinkle Metals & Supply 205-
326-3300, BTrained 205-728-7254, and R.E. Michel 205-320-0095. 

For further assistance with CE please contact the Board at 1-866-855-1912. 
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LEGAL CONTRACTORS PLACING THEMSELVES AT 

RISK! 
Certified Contractors that allow uncertified individuals or an uncertified company 

to use their state certification should think twice. Contractors that allow an illegal 

contractor to use their certification to pull permits are in violation of state law. 

Those contractors who circumvent state law and enable such work outside state 

law, place their certification at risk and subject themselves to a fine of $2,000 per 

incident. Every violation will be taken very seriously. Protect your certification, 

don’t let an uncertified contractor use you! 

GENERAL CONTRACTOR AND LIQUEFIED PETRO-

LEM LICENSING REQUIRED FOR HVAC CONTRAC-

TORS - DOES THE FOLLOWING APPLY  TO 

YOU? 
The Alabama Board for General Contractors’ law requires that any 

HACR contractor performing a job over $50,000 hold a subcontrac-

tor or prime contractor license issued by the General Contractors 

Board. If you have any questions about this requirement please 

contact the Heating, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Board at 

(866) 855-1912 or the General Contractors Board at 800-356-6361 

or online at: www.genconbd.alabama.gov . 

 

The Alabama Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board law requires that any HACR 

contractor involved in the installation, service or repair of a gas furnace 

connected to liquefied petroleum (LP) gas hold the appropriate certifica-

tion with their agency. If you have any questions about LP Gas require-

ment please contact the Heating, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration 

Board at 866- 855-1912 LP Gas Board at 800-545-9246 or online at: 

www.lpgb.alabama.gov 

Duct Air Tightness Testing Mandatory  
 

The Alabama Residential Energy, Code of Alabama 1975, Section 305-2-4-.10 mandates that 

duct pressure testing is required on all new construction and full system changeouts regard-

less of what jurisdiction a contractor performs installation of an HVAC system in the State of 

Alabama.  

In addition Section 34-31-24(b)(1) mandates that any individual who engages in the practice 

of testing and verifying duct air tightness, in conjunction with the installation, service, or re-

pair of heating and air conditioning systems, is required to be registered with the Board. Since 

the inception of the law in 2015, the code has changed making the duct leakage less than 4% 

at rough-in. Once each test is performed and passes, the contractor who performed the test is 

required to report the results to the Board on a duct air tightness testing verification form.  

Forms can be found under the forms section of the Board’s website at 

www.hacr.alabama.gov. For contractors who are interested in whole home energy compli-

ance, there is a Alabama Residential Energy Code Compliance Calculator on ADECA’s website: 

www.adeca.alabama.gov/energy  
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PERMITTING! 
There are a number of contractors who intentionally fail to pull a permit in the city or county or 

both in which they are working. Section 106.1 and 107.1 of the 2015 International Mechanical 

Code states that you must pull a permit if you are working in a city or county that requires you 

to do so.   

Section 106.1 of the International Mechanical Code reads as follows: 

If we are notified by a city or county official that a contractor has not pulled the required       

permit for a job, the Board will open a Board complaint against the contractor and proceed with 

disciplinary action. If the Board receives a consumer complaint and finds that the contractor did 

not obtain the proper permit for the job, the Board will notify the city and/or county official. In 

either case it will cost you both time and administrative fines by the Board or the city or county 

or both, so do not chance it, pull a permit.  

If you do not know if your city or county requires a permit, contact the Board and we will be 

glad to put you in contact with the proper authority. 

 “When required. An owner, authorized agent or contractor who desires to erect, 

install, enlarge, alter, repair, remove, convert, or replace a mechanical system, the installa-

tion of  which  is regulated by this code, or to cause such work to be done, shall first make 

application to the code official and obtain the required permit for the work. 

 Exception: Where equipment and appliance replacements or repairs must be per-

formed in an emergency situation, the permit application shall be submitted within the next 

working business day of the department of mechanical inspection.” 

Parts Supply Houses Selling Equipment to  Uncertified In-

dividuals 
State law is non-existent as to the sale of heating and air or commercial refrigeration installa-

tion equipment to uncertified contractors. The Board does not have the statutory authority to 

prevent the sale of equipment to unlicensed persons. 

The Board has been given a list of parts houses which are allegedly selling equipment to non-

certified persons. Even though the Board does not agree with this practice, it cannot be pre-

vented. The Federal Fair Trade Law  prevents the Board from demanding that supply houses 

stop selling to uncertified individuals. The Board can only ask that supply houses not sell to 

uncertified individuals. The Board is grateful to the supply houses that require proof of certifi-

cation prior to a contractor being allowed to purchase equipment from them. 

 
Federal law does, however, mandate that you must hold an EPA Freon Certification Card to 

purchase items which contain any type of refrigerant .  

2020 PROOF OF PERFORMANCE BOND REQUIRED 
Do you know the status of your performance bond?  If not, you should contact your insur-

ance company. All contractors are required to maintain a $15,000 performance bond. When 

the Board receives notification of a bond cancellation, you are notified by certified mail to 

give you an opportunity to have the bond reinstated or have a new bond issued.  Beginning 

in 2017 you will be required to provided proof your bond is in place prior to renewal for 

2021. It is important that you resolve any matters pertaining to your bond to avoid any ad-

ministrative action against you for failure to meet the Statutory Bond requirements. 
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DISPLAY OF YOUR NAME AND NUMBERS!! 
The Board would like to remind all contractors that Code of Alabama 1975 § 34-31-24(b), requires that every certified contractor 

display, in a prominent, legible manner, the State of Alabama Board of Heating, Air Conditioning & Refrigeration Contractors certifi-

cation number(s) and business name on all work vehicles, documentation, and forms of advertising including radio and television 

commercials. The certification number(s) on work vehicles must be a minimum of two inches in height and placed on at least two 

sides of the vehicle. 

DON’T WAIT FOR A COMPLAINT 
As a reminder, in an effort to improve customer satisfaction, do not wait until your customer files a consumer complaint. Try to resolve the 

issue beforehand. Contact these consumers to determine the problem and resolve the issue. Consumers are interested in  personal atten-

tion and having their units operating properly.  Contacting the consumer from the beginning will reduce the hassle for you and the possibil-

ity of administrative action against you by the Board.  

PERSON IN RESPONSIBLE CHARGE 
 

The certified contractor is considered by the Board as the “Responsible in Charge” at the heating and air conditioning or commercial re-

frigeration company. Responsible in Charge is defined as “The direction of projects involving the installation or service of heating, air con-

ditioning, and refrigeration systems requiring initiation, professional skills, technical knowledge and independent judgment”. In short, the 

Responsible in Charge is responsible for every aspect of a job undertaken. If a technician performs the actual work, the Board holds the 

Responsible in Charge accountable for all work done on that job.  

 

The Responsible in Charge must also be a regularly employed person with the company. In other words they must be a full time employee, 

meaning they must work a minimum of 30 hours per week for the company and be on their payroll and receive a W-2 to be considered as 

the responsible in charge for the company. They cannot receive a 1099 form. 

 

The Responsible in Charge is responsible for all permits that must be pulled and the installing, repairing or servicing of units on each job. 

The Responsible in Charge will be held responsible for any minimum standard violations found on an existing unit or installation their com-

pany is/was contracted to perform. 

ICC CODES TO KNOW 
The Board would like to remind all certified  contractors that they should be familiar with and will be expected to comply with the codes 

outlined in the 2015 International Mechanical Code and International Residential Code for One and Two Family Dwellings as well as the 

coded referenced within these manuals pertaining to commercial and residential heating and air conditioning.  

 

Refrigeration Contractors who do not practice heating and air conditioning work should be familiar with the International Mechanical Code 

This means that all work performed after January 1, 2017 must meet these codes. If you have any questions about codes please call the 

Board. 
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2020 COMPLIANCE IN ACTION 

UNLICENSED  

CONTRACTOR  

 COMPLIANCE 

George Tobia 

Rick Bates 

Pierce Parker 

Jorge DeJesus 

 

 

UNLICENSED  

CONTRACTORS 

 NON-COMPLIANCE 

Wydrekus King 

Joseph Holt 

Preston Kolb 

Jeffrey Files 

Corry Ritch 

Malcom Sumpter 

Robert Millington 

Jeffery Vice 

Michael Baldree 

Ronald Mitchell Davis 

WARRANTS   

 

 

   Joshua Corry 

Shawn Hubbard 

Matthew Dickey 

James Roland 

Sanders 

Justin Dockery 

 

LICENSEES 

ON PROBATION 

 

Chadrick Setchell 

 

 

Disciplinary Action Taken Against Contractors 
 

Disciplinary action is being taken against contractors where work performed violates minimum standards set by the Board, as well as, 

against those contractors who fail to comply with the Board’s rules and regulations in such matters as displaying their numbers on their ser-

vice or work vehicles and loaning their license to unlicensed contractors. This discipline can be in the form of a letter of reprimand, a mone-

tary fine, additional continuation hours, suspension or revocation of their license. 

A complete investigation is conducted by the Board’s investigators in each instance where suspicion of misconduct is  presented. Once final, 

a report is submitted to the Board’s Investigative Committee. 

Every aspect of a job or issue being investigated is carefully reviewed and the Committee determines what, if any, disciplinary action should 

be taken against the licensee. 

The Board will continue to take disciplinary action against contractors where code violations or noncompliance with Board rules and regula-

tions exists.  

The Board’s disciplinary powers have been in existence since the Board was created in 1982. 



The Board appreciates the hard working licensed contractors who are determined to deliver quality services to Ala-

bama’s consumers. These contractors spend a number of hours and money to meet the requirements necessary to 

maintain their certifications while unscrupulous contractors attempt to take business from the certified contractor by 

lowering prices and doing substandard work.  The Board often receives calls from certified contractors who are dis-

couraged by the continued presence of uncertified contractors working without obtaining the proper certification. The 

Board’s investigators attempt to find as many of these uncertified contractors as possible, however, when you see or 

know of a possible uncertified contractor working in your area, you should notify the Board in order for our investiga-

tors to check on the validity of these contractors. 

The Board takes proactive action against uncertified contractors, that includes issuing cease and desist orders, levying 

fines and obtaining warrants for their arrest, in an effort to stop such illegal activity.  The Board is appreciative of the 

supply houses that post bulletins warning illegal contractors of the consequences of working without a license. 

The Board is committed to supporting certified contractors and make every effort to protect the reputation of the con-

tractors that strive to follow the rules and regulations of the heating, air conditioning and commercial refrigeration 

industry. 
 

PLEASE  
PLACE  
STAMP  
HERE 

 

THANK YOU CERTIFIED CONTRACTORS 

STATE OF ALABMA BOARD OF HEATING,  

AIR CONDITIONING & REFRIGERATION CONTRACTORS 

P. O. Box 305025 

Montgomery, AL 36130-5025 


