

Second Quarter News Bulletin

The Board is excited to announce a Second Annual Education Conference for 2024!!

This Second Annual Education Conference, hosted by the Hoover Metropolitan Complex will be on October 8, 2024. Registration will open on September 1, 2024. Please check the Board Training Schedule on the Licensees/Forms link at www.hacr.alabama.gov to learn more about the conference and other upcoming training opportunities statewide.

The remainder of the Board meetings for 2024 will be held at the following time and locations:

Thursday, May 23, 2024 at Lakepoint State Park Lodge, 2nd Avenue, Eufaula, Alabama 36027 at 10:00 a.m.

Wednesday, August 7, 2024 at the Board Offices in Montgomery at 11:00 a.m.

Wednesday, November 13, 2024 at the Board Offices in Montgomery at 11:00 a.m.

For the 2024 Legislative Session the Board appealed to Alabama Legislature to update the the existing law. On April 30, 2024, SB-101 was passed making significant changes to the Alabama Law pertaining to Heating, Air conditioning and Refrigeration contractors. This bill effects all HVAC and commercial refrigeration contractors by implementing the following changes:

- Removes apprentices from the Board's statute. The apprentice alternative path to testing program has proven unsuccessful with only 4 new apprentices currently registered with the Board since 2020. Currently potential licensees can qualify to sit for the exam with less on the job training (3000 hours) than an apprentice (4160 hours). Be advised that the Board still recognizes an apprenticeship approved by and registered with the Alabama Office of Apprenticeship.
- Gives the Board the authority to increase performance up to \$25,000. Based on claims information filed on behalf of consumers by the Board, it has been determined that the current \$15,000 is too low. The recent average repair estimate as a result of a consumer complaint is currently \$27,515.66.
- In the event a contractor's license is revoked, this bill changes the appeals procedures by requiring said contractor to file for appeal in Montgomery County. Additionally, once the license is revoked, the Board is authorized to revoke the business name, entity name, corporation, etc. This prohibits companies owned by a contractor whose license has been revoked from hiring a new contractor to step into his/her place to keep operations going.
- Exemptions pertaining to electrical disconnects did not pass in SB-101, but are expected to pass in other or future legislation.

Also, on April 30, 2024, SB-111 (HACR SUNSET) was passed to allow the Board to maintain operating through October 1, 2028 without further Sunset Review by the Examiners of Public Accounts. The Board will send notice to all contractors once these two bills are signed by Governor Ivey and assigned act numbers.